The Start & Noble Grapes

So I know next to nothing about wine. I know there’s red, white and rose isn’t a mix of the two. I know a few names and if buying wine in the supermarket then I’ll aim for those recognisable words and avoid any ones I don’t understand.

My plan is to slowly work my way through learning wine here, and posting about it weekly in simple steps to help anyone else that wants to start learning about it as well with me. I don’t plan on spending a fortune in this endeavour so I’m aiming to keep the cost of a bottle of wine under £5 if possible and bought from a supermarket so anyone can try and find it as well! So if you get put off by the thought of there being so many different regions and where they all are or what they mean then join me as I try to get the basics and some of the history about it all.

Noble Grapes

So the first bit of information seems to be a concept called ‘Noble Grapes’. The simple part of this information is that these are basically the variety of grapes that are generally grown in all the big wine regions around the world. The more complex part is just how many varieties count, it seems to generally go from 6 up to 18 though and doesn’t seem to be agreed upon. So we’ll make this super simple and start with the basic six. At least till we’ve drunk our way through them and might have a bit of better knowledge about wine. So what are they? There’s three red and there’s three white:

Three Red:

  1. Cabernet Sauvignon
  2. Merlot
  3. Pinot Noir

Three White:

  1. Sauvignon Blanc
  2. Chardonnay
  3. Riesling

That’s not too complicated to start with, and it gives us our first goal. Drink the basic Noble Grapes. The first one to try will be posted tomorrow and will be a Cabernet Sauvignon from Tesco. I’ll post some information about the grape style itself and then a bit about the bottle I got, so until then!

If you have any ideas for improvement or any topics you want covered feel free to let me know and we’ll try and muddle our way through all the wine stuff together!